National hockey team leaves for Jakarta tomorrow

The Bangladesh national hockey team will fly to Jakarta tomorrow night (Monday) to compete in the Men’s AHF Cup, which will take place in Indonesia from March 11 to 20.

Bangladesh has won all three previous editions of this competition. Bangladesh will compete in the competition, which will be coached by Malaysian Iman Gobinathan Krishnamurthy. Bangladesh will compete in the event as the favorite this time.

  Learn about the COVID-19 pandemic from News Hour  

The national team’s uniform was unveiled and an official group photo session was held today (Sunday) at the Falcon Hall of the Bangladesh Air Force in Tejgaon, ahead of the team’s departure.

The president of the Bangladesh Hockey Federation and Principal of the Air Staff, Shaikh Abdul Hannan BBP, BUP, nswc fawc, psc, was the chief guest, while the chairman of the Dhaka Mercantile Co-operative Bank Limited, Mohammad Abu Jafar Chowdhury GD (P), was a distinguished guest.

Bangladesh will commence their campaign against Indonesia on March 11 in one of four matches on the first day. The competition also serves as a qualifier for the Asia Cup’s next edition.

Bangladesh is in Pool B and will face Oman in their second match on March 14, before facing Iran and Singapore on March 15 and 17, respectively.

China, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, and Kazakhstan make up Pool A.

The top two teams from each five-team pool will face off in the semi-finals on March 19, followed by the final on March 20.

Bangladesh squad:

Goalkeepers: Biplob Kujur, Abu Sayeed Nippon; Defenders: Rezaul Karim Babu, Farhd Ahmed Shitul, Khorshedur Rahman, Ashraful Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Sohanur Rahman Sabuz; Midfielders: Sarwar Hossain, Fazle Hossain Rabbi, Naim Uddin, Prince Lal Samanta, Roman Sarkar; Forwards: Rasel Mahmud Jimmy, Milon Hossain, Pushkor Khisha Mimo, Arshad Hossain, Deen Islam Emon, Rakibul Hasan Roki(Jr), Mahabub Hossain.

Follow News Hour

This article has been posted by a News Hour Correspondent. For queries, please contact through [email protected]
No Comments