Three Belarus banks’ assets will be frozen by Japan

The government of Japan announced Thursday that three Belarusian banks’ assets will be frozen, days after EU members decided to tighten sanctions against Minsk over its backing for Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Tokyo’s latest sanctions on Belarus, which will take effect on April 10, are part of a larger effort by Japan and its G7 partners to put pressure on Moscow by imposing a series of restrictions on financial institutions and exports, including semiconductors.

  Learn about the COVID-19 pandemic from News Hour  

Belarusian President Alexander Lukashenko had already been sanctioned by Japan.

The European Union approved the removal of three Belarusian banks from the global SWIFT messaging system earlier this week, citing the country’s role in the Kremlin hack.

Belagroprombank, Bank Dabrabyt, and the Development Bank of the Republic of Belarus will be sanctioned as part of Japan’s asset freeze, according to the foreign ministry.

Follow News Hour

This article has been posted by a News Hour Correspondent. For queries, please contact through [email protected]
No Comments
Contact News Hour
Join the mailing list of News Hour now

Translate this News

Join the Facebook Group

Click here to join the Facebook group of News Hour

Popular Posts

Youth urged for intergenerational solidarity tackling climate catastrophe
UK expects to take delivery of a shipment of gas from Australia next week
Elon Musk tweets he is 'buying Manchester United'
Depriving girls of secondary education translates to a loss of at least US$500 million for Afghan economy in last 12 months
Bolsonaro, Lula to launch campaigns in Brazil
SINGER Furniture offers up to 60% discount in Bangladesh


Contribute to News Hour

News of the Month

March 2022