Four Arab countries lost to Qatar over airspace sanctions

Four Arab countries have lost to Qatar in the international court. More than three years ago, those countries imposed a ban on airspace with Qatar. The International Court of Justice has recently ruled in a related case.

The Supreme Court of the United Nations in The Hague in the Netherlands on Tuesday upheld Qatar’s support in the case. Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt and Bahrain have appealed against a decision by the International Civil Aviation Organization.

  Learn about the COVID-19 pandemic from News Hour  

But Doha won the case because the four Arab states failed to present sufficient evidence against Qatar. International Court of Justice President Abdul Qawi Ahmed Yusuf confirmed the information.

In 2018, the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) accused four Arab countries of violating international agreements on civil aviation. But those Arab countries claim that the ICAO has no right to decide. The Saudi alliance finally approached the International Court of Justice over the issue.

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) on Tuesday ruled that the ICAO had the right to decide the case. Doha says it will bring Arab countries to justice.

Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates and Egypt severed ties with Qatar on June 5, 2017, accusing supporting Iran and financing terrorism. At that time, the countries imposed sanctions on Qatar by land, water and air. But Doha has always denied financing terrorism.

Follow News Hour
News Hour Correspondent

This article has been posted by a News Hour Correspondent. For queries, please contact through [email protected]
No Comments
Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this: