Changes in IOC executive board

News Hour:

  Learn about the COVID-19 pandemic from News Hour  

Two new ioc vice-presidents were elected along with seven new members on the executive board at the 129th ioc session ahead of the olympic games rio 2016.

Juan Antonio Samaranch (ESP) and Uğur Erdener (TUR) will replace outgoing Vice-Presidents Nawal El Moutawakel (MAR) and Sir Craig Reedie (GBR). Five new and returning Members will also be joining the Executive Board: Gian Franco Kasper (SUI), Angela Ruggiero (USA), Sergey Bubka (UKR), Ser Miang Ng (SIN), and Willi Kaltschmitt (GUA). Ching-Kuo Wu and Patrick Hickey are resuming their seats as representatives of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) and the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) respectively. The new Chair of the IOC Athletes’ Commission, Angela Ruggiero, replaces outgoing Chair Claudia Bokel, following the elections earlier this week. The newly composed EB will begin its work after the Olympic Games Rio 2016.


In a presentation by the Chair of the IOC Members Election Commission, HRH the Princess Royal, it was reported that the Commission has devised a new procedure for the recruitment of IOC Members based on the Olympic Agenda 2020 recommendations. The new approach aims at targeting new members with the skills and experience needed by the IOC, and includes integrity checks by the IOC Ethics Commission.

Following a proposal from the Executive Board, eight new IOC Members were elected at the 129th IOC Session ahead of the Olympic Games Rio 2016: Nita Ambani (IND); Sari Essayah (FIN); Ivo Ferriani (ITA); Luis Moreno (COL); Auvita Rapilla (PNG); Anant Singh (RSA); Tricia Smith (CAN); and Karl Stoss (AUT).

The newly-elected Members represent a cross-section of expertise from the worlds of sport, culture, medicine, sociology, business, law and management. Gender equality is guaranteed with four women and four men on the list.

Seventeen Members were re-elected en bloc: Anita DeFrantz (USA), HRH The Princess Royal (GBR), Richard Carrión (PUR), Nat Indrapana (THA), Denis Oswald (SUI), IOC President Thomas Bach (GER), Mario Pescante (ITA), Gerhard Heiberg (NOR), Robin Mitchell (FIJ), Alex GILADY (ISR), Sam Ramsamy (RSA), Ung Chang (PRK), Guy Drut (FRA), Samih Moudallal (SYR), Zaiqing Yu (CHN), Sergey Bubka (UKR), and Uğur Erdener (TUR).

The addition of the new Members brings the total number of IOC Members to 98. More proposals are due for the IOC Session in Lima in 2017 after elections in certain International Summer Sports Federations and National Olympic Committees (NOCs) following the Olympic Games Rio 2016, in consultation with the respective stakeholders.

Follow News Hour

Mridha Shihab Mahmud is a writer, content editor and photojournalist. He works as a staff reporter at News Hour. He is also involved in humanitarian works through a trust called Safety Assistance For Emergencies (SAFE). Mridha also works as film director. His passion is photography. He is the chief respondent person in Mymensingh Film & Photography Society. Besides professional attachment, he loves graphics designing, painting, digital art and social networking.
No Comments
%d bloggers like this: