Philippines to lift Covid travel ban on Bangladesh, nine other countries

On Monday, the Philippines will suspend the travel ban for all inbound visitors from ten countries, including Bangladesh, according to a presidential spokesperson.

According to the Hindustan Times, presidential spokesman Harry Roque stated in a statement that the ban, which was imposed in April and expanded to more nations in July to avoid the spread of the extremely dangerous Delta strain of the coronavirus, will be lifted on Monday.

  Learn about the COVID-19 pandemic from News Hour  

President Rodrigo Duterte of the Philippines has approved the Covid-19 task force’s suggestion to ease travel restrictions in Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Thailand, Malaysia, and Indonesia.

Travelers from these ten countries will be required to spend 14 days under quarantine upon arrival, according to Roque. “International travellers from the aforementioned nations, on the other hand, must adhere to the required entry, testing, and quarantine regulations,” Roque said in a statement.

Foreign visitors are still barred from entering the nation, with the exception of diplomats and foreign spouses of Filipino residents who have special visas.

The Philippines is dealing with a surge in Covid-19 infections, with 2,040,568 cases documented as of Friday, including 33,873 deaths.

On Friday, the Philippines’ Department of Health reported a total of 20,310 new Covid-19 infections. The caseload is the second-highest single-day total since the coronavirus pandemic began in January of last year, according to data.

Follow News Hour

This article has been posted by a News Hour Correspondent. For queries, please contact through [email protected]
No Comments
%d bloggers like this: