Dhawan named India captain for ODIs against South Africa

India named opener Shikhar Dhawan as captain on Sunday for three one-day internationals against South Africa starting this week.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced a 16-man squad for the ODIs with batsman Shreyas Iyer named Dhawan’s deputy.

  Learn about the COVID-19 pandemic from News Hour  

Iyer remains on the standby list for this month’s T20 World Cup along with ODI teammates Ravi Bishnoi and Deepak Chahar, all of whom are expected to join the T20 team in Australia after the South Africa series.

An on-going T20 series between the two countries ends on Tuesday. The ODI matches start on October 6 in Lucknow.

ODI squad: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer (vice-capt), Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wkt), Sanju Samson (wkt), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak

Follow News Hour

This article has been posted by a News Hour Correspondent. For queries, please contact through [email protected]
No Comments