26 EU member states take final step to reduce carbon emissions to zero

The European Union has taken final steps to limit greenhouse gas emissions. On Monday (June 26), 28 European Union countries, except Bulgaria, ratified the agreement.

According to an agreement signed by the EU member states in April, it was decided to reduce carbon emissions by 55 per cent by 2030. It says carbon emissions will be reduced to zero by 2050. At Monday’s meeting, EU leaders formally approved the agreement. The agreement was approved by the European Parliament last week. The agreement will officially become law after the signatures of the member states.

  Learn about the COVID-19 pandemic from News Hour  

The decision comes as part of a larger effort to combat the effects of climate change. Earlier, they signed an agreement in this regard last April. Where it is said that the amount of carbon emitted in 1990,
It will be reduced to 55 per cent by 2030. And by 2050, this amount will come down to absolutely zero quotas. At the meeting, 28 EU countries voted in favour. The law related to this will be passed later. Leaders will formally sign and finalize the law.

Follow News Hour

This article has been posted by a News Hour Correspondent. For queries, please contact through [email protected]
No Comments
Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this: