Dhaka Dynamites become BPL 2016 champion

News Hour

Dhaka Dynamites emerged champions in the 4th edition of Bangladesh Premier League T20 beating Rajshahi Kings by 56 runs in the final held on Friday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium at Mirpur.

Chasing Dhaka’s 159 runs, Rajshahi Kings found the chase stiff losing wickets in regular intervals and finally dismissed at 103 in 17.4 overs.

Despite the early loss of opener Nurul Hasan for 5, another opener Moninul Haque (27) and one down Sabbir Rahman (26) kept the momentum for Rajshahi contributing 47 runs for the second wicket stand, but after their departure, Rajshahi could not come back in the match losing wickets in regular intervals in the face of tight bowling display by Dhaka Dynamites bowlers.

Rajshahi Kings lost their remaining seven wickets adding only 37 runs in the scoreboard.

Sanjamul Islam, Abu Jayed and Shakib Al Hasan shared two wickets each conceding 12, 17 and 30 runs respectively.

Earlier, put to bat first by Rajshahi, Dhaka Dynamites rode on a late blaze by Kumar Sangakkara to post a competitive 159 for 9 from their allotted 20 overs.

After coming in at number five, Sangakkara was the ninth wicket to fall in the last over for a 33-ball 36 runs with two boundaries and a over boundary all hit in the last seven balls.

Opener Evin Lewis top-scored in the Dhaka’s innings with a 31-ball off 45 runs to steer Dhaka to 83 for four in the 11th over, but his fall to Forhad Reza and Dhaka’s subsequent struggles — they scored just 33 runs in the five overs following Lewis’s dismissal — made it seemed like Dhaka would struggle to cross 150.

Forhad Reza was the most successful bowler for Rajshahi as he bagged three wickets conceding 28 runs.

Kumar Sangakkara of Dhaka Dynamites was adjudged the player of the match for his impressive innings in the match while Mahmudullah of Khulna Titans was adjudged the player of the series.

This article has been posted by a News Hour Correspondent. For queries, please contact through [email protected]
No Comments