International AIDS Society and partners present awards for outstanding research

News Hour:

the 21st International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2016), concluded today with the awarding of five prestigious scientific awards recognizing exceptional research presented at the conference. The honours were presented to ten recipients by the International AIDS Society (IAS), the organizer of AIDS 2016, and its partners.

“Supporting the field’s talented researchers, across a variety of scientific disciplines, is a key component of the IAS mission,” said IAS President Chris Beyrer. “These prizes encourage outstanding researchers to focus on some of the greatest scientific challenges associated with the HIV epidemic, and to put forth their best efforts to improve our understanding of HIV, and develop the knowledge and tools that can have a global impact on this epidemic.”

  Learn about the COVID-19 pandemic from News Hour  

21st International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2016), Durban, South Africa. Photo shows: ICC with 2016 conference branding. Photo©International AIDS Society/Marcus Rose

Sinaye Ngcapu, South Africa got “Women, Girls and HIV Investigator’s Prize” for his Effect of injectable hormonal contraceptives on vaginal epithelium thickness and genital HIV target cell density in women recently infected with HIV. Which was presented by Jan Beagle (UNAIDS) and Princess Tessy of Luxembourg (UNAIDS). The Women, Girls and HIV Investigator’s Prize encourages research in low- or middle-income countries to benefit women and girls affected by HIV and AIDS.

Makhahliso Jubilee and Theresa Betancourt achived Prize for Excellence in HIV Research Related to Children. This prize was Presented by Lorraine Sherr (Coalition for Children Affected by AIDS) and Chewe Luo (UNICEF). The Prize for Excellence in HIV Research Related to Children supports investigators demonstrating excellence in research that is likely to lead to improved services for children affected by HIV in low- or middle-income countries.

Roy Gerona won IAS TB/HIV Research Prize for his Development of a multi-analyte panel for non-invasive pharmacokinetic monitoring of second-line anti-tuberculosis drugs in small hair samples. The IAS TB/HIV Research Prize incentivizes young and established researchers to investigate key issues related to TB/HIV co-infection and the operational effectiveness of core TB/HIV collaborative services.

Jacques Dutrieux, Munyaradzi Pasipamire, José Luis Gomez, Leigh Bukowski, Pedro Carneiro, Tinya He won Lange/van Tongeren Prizes for Young Investigator Awards for their researchs. The award was Presented by Jean-François Delfraissy (ANRS) and Chris Beyrer (IAS). The Lange/van Tongeren Prizes for Young Investigators to support young researchers who demonstrate innovation, originality, rationale and quality in HIV research. One prize is awarded to the top scoring abstracts in each conference track.

Follow News Hour
Mridha Shihab Mahmud

Mridha Shihab Mahmud is a writer, content editor and photojournalist. He works as a staff reporter at News Hour. He is also involved in humanitarian works through a trust called Safety Assistance For Emergencies (SAFE). Mridha also works as film director. His passion is photography. He is the chief respondent person in Mymensingh Film & Photography Society. Besides professional attachment, he loves graphics designing, painting, digital art and social networking.
No Comments
Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this: