AHM Bazlur Rahman made Jury Member of Hans Verploeg Awards to select Newcomer of the Year in Journalism

News Hour:

CEO of BNNRC Mr. AHM Bazlur Rahman who is also a celebrity community media policy advocate and journalist has been selected  for the second time as one of the member in a jury panel in Hans Verploeg Awards. The jury panel will pick the winner of the Free Press Unlimited Newcomer of the Year  in Journalism – Hans Verploeg Awards 2016.

The jury panel member AHM Bazlur has more than 20 years’ of experience in leveraging community media/media and the right to communication to create successful policy advocacy in Bangladesh in line with community media development. He is one of the founder of Bangladesh NGOs Network for Radio and Communication (BNNRC). BNNRC devoted entirely to Promote Community Media for Development and leads supports and advocates for the initiators to actively provide independent community broadcasting in Bangladesh.

  Learn about the COVID-19 pandemic from News Hour  

AHM Bazlur is the first Bangladeshi community media journalist and Media Policy Advocate to sit on the jury panel for the Newcomer of the Year in Journalism – Hans Verploeg Awards 2016, the Netherlands.

Free Press Unlimited Newcomer of the Year in Journalism – Hans Verploeg Awards 2016, the Netherlands recognizes talented new journalists who have put in a strong performance when it comes to reporting the news. Nominee demonstrates exceptional commitment to press freedom and independent coverage and use innovative methods to disseminate the information. They show extraordinary dedication to journalism as a means to hold those in power accountable and to serve as a watchdog in the public interest. They manage to share stories that would otherwise be left untold.

AHM Bazlur Rahman

AHM Bazlur Rahman, CEO – Bangladesh NGOs Network for Radio & Communication (BNNRC)

Hans Verploeg Awards is widely recognized as the most prestigious award for journalists. The winner of the Free Press Unlimited Newcomer of the Year in Journalism – Hans Verploeg Awards 2016 will receive a media scholarship as well as an expenses –paid visit to Netherlands where the award will be conferred in person at the Free Press Award ceremony on the 2 November 2016. During the yearly ceremony on the International Day to End Impunity, Free Press Unlimited will also recognize exceptional work in the category Most Resilient Journalist.

AHM Bazlur is one of the founder member of Bangladesh Working Group on UN World Summit on the Information Society (UN WSIS), Community Radio Monitoring Committee, and National Broadcasting Act Drafting Committee 2016 of Ministry of Information, People’s Republic of Bangladesh, founder member of Bangladesh UN Internet Governance Forum (UN IGF), and Multi-stakeholder Steering Group Members of Asia Pacific Regional Internet Governance Forum.

News Hour family congratulates AHM Bazlur on his continuous progress.

Follow News Hour

Mridha Shihab Mahmud is a writer, content editor and photojournalist. He works as a staff reporter at News Hour. He is also involved in humanitarian works through a trust called Safety Assistance For Emergencies (SAFE). Mridha also works as film director. His passion is photography. He is the chief respondent person in Mymensingh Film & Photography Society. Besides professional attachment, he loves graphics designing, painting, digital art and social networking.
No Comments